The I Love You Bridge – Listen to the story behind the words…

The full wording of the graffiti on the bridge reads “Clare Middleton I love you will u marry me”. Clares name was never very visible and from a distance only the words “I love you will u marry me” are clearly seen. The walkway bridge at Park Hill flats is known locally as the “I love you bridge”.  In 2011 Frances Byrnes produced a half hour radio programme that unravels the story behind the graffiti.

Click here to listen to the BBC Radio 4 broadcast on iPlayer.

6 thoughts on “The I Love You Bridge – Listen to the story behind the words…

  1. Pingback: The story behind Park Hill’s ‘I Love You Will U Marry Me’graffiti « emily brinnand's blog

    • The spray painted graffiti has now been hidden behind a neon sign so photographers will no longer be able to take the original writing. I guess all things change but I do like the original faded words. Thanks for stopping by. Best wishes, PC

  2. Pingback: Re-Blogged Postcard Cafe | thisoldtoad

Leave a Reply

